✦ FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50 ✦ THIRD-PARTY LAB TESTED ✦ TRANSPARENT LABELS — EVERY INGREDIENT DISCLOSED ✦ MADE IN USA · GMP CERTIFIED ✦ 30-DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE ✦ FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50 ✦ THIRD-PARTY LAB TESTED ✦ TRANSPARENT LABELS — EVERY INGREDIENT DISCLOSED ✦ MADE IN USA · GMP CERTIFIED ✦ 30-DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE

Ashwagandha Brand Reviews 2026: Goli vs Nature Made vs Youtheory vs Thorne and 15 More Compared

Written by Tao Wu, FounderReviewed by YourHealthier Science TeamPublished Updated 32 min read Editorial Policy
Ashwagandha Brand Reviews 2026 — 19 brands compared including Goli, Nature Made, Youtheory, Thorne, NOW Foods, Nutricost, and more
Key Takeaways

Choosing an ashwagandha supplement comes down to four things, in this order: the extract (a patented, standardized KSM-66, Sensoril, or Shoden versus generic powder), the dose relative to published trials (300–600 mg/day for KSM-66), independent third-party testing (USP, NSF, or a named lab), and cost per clinically studied serving. Nature Made is the only mass-market brand with USP verification; Nutricost and Transparent Labs deliver the full 600 mg KSM-66 dose at the lowest cost; Thorne uses the most concentrated extract (Shoden, 35% withanolide glycosides). The 600 mg KSM-66 dose proven effective for cortisol reduction in Dr. K. Chandrasekhar’s landmark RCT (Chandrasekhar et al., 2012, Indian Journal of Psychological Medicine) is difficult to hit in gummy form, making capsules the more reliable delivery at clinical doses.

There are over 200 ashwagandha supplements on Amazon alone, and most of them use generic, unstandardized powder with no clinical backing. A few use patented, clinically studied extracts. The difference matters more than the brand name on the bottle.

This guide breaks down every major ashwagandha brand sold in the United States — Goli, Nature Made, Youtheory, Thorne, NOW Foods, Transparent Labs, Nutricost, Himalaya, and more — by what's actually inside: the extract type, the withanolide concentration, whether a third party verified it, and what you're paying per milligram of active compound. We also cover where to buy ashwagandha at Walmart, CVS, Target, Costco, Amazon, GNC, Vitamin Shoppe, and Whole Foods, and which brands each retailer stocks.

No brand paid for placement in this review. Our evaluation criteria are the extract used, the dose relative to clinical evidence, third-party testing, and cost per serving. For the clinical research behind these extracts, see our full guide to the best ashwagandha KSM-66 supplements.

How We Evaluated These Ashwagandha Brands

Every ashwagandha brand in this review was evaluated on four criteria that determine whether a supplement can deliver what the clinical research promises.

Extract type. There are three patented, clinically studied ashwagandha extracts: KSM-66 (root only, ≥5% withanolides, 24+ RCTs), Sensoril (root + leaf, ≥10% withanolides, ~10 RCTs), and Shoden (root + leaf, 35% withanolide glycosides, 3 RCTs). Products using generic powder or unspecified "root extract" have no standardized withanolide content, meaning potency varies batch to batch — the difference is covered in depth in our guide to KSM-66 vs. regular ashwagandha extract. This is the single most important factor in choosing an ashwagandha supplement.

Dose vs. clinical evidence. The dose on the label needs to match the dose used in published trials. For KSM-66, that's 300–600 mg/day. For Sensoril, 125–250 mg/day. For Shoden, 60–120 mg/day. A product that uses 150 mg of KSM-66 per serving — like some gummies — is delivering half the minimum studied dose unless you double up. It's worth setting expectations on what those doses do: a 2025 systematic review and meta-analysis of 15 randomized controlled trials found that ashwagandha significantly reduced serum cortisol and anxiety scores versus placebo (Bachour et al., 2025). A separate 2025 meta-analysis reached a more cautious conclusion — cortisol dropped, but self-reported perceived stress did not consistently improve (Albalawi, 2025) — so the biochemical effect is better established than the subjective one.

Third-party testing. Does the brand submit finished products to an independent lab (USP, NSF, Informed Sport, or a named lab) for verification of identity, potency, and contaminant testing? In-house testing in a cGMP facility is the regulatory minimum, not a quality differentiator.

Cost per clinically studied serving. A $10 bottle with 300 mg of generic powder is not cheaper than a $20 bottle with 600 mg of KSM-66 — it's money spent on something that was never tested in a human trial.

Ashwagandha Brand Comparison Chart: Extract, Dose, Testing, Price

This table compares every major ashwagandha brand sold in the U.S. by the four criteria that determine real-world effectiveness. Brands are grouped by extract type, not by popularity or price.

Ashwagandha brand comparison: extract type, dose, third-party testing, and approximate cost per serving (2026)
Brand Extract Dose / Serving Form 3rd-Party Tested ~Cost/Serving
Transparent Labs KSM-66 600 mg / 1 cap Capsule Yes $0.33
Nutricost KSM-66 600 mg / 1 cap Capsule Yes $0.13
NOW Foods KSM-66 450 mg / 1 cap Capsule NPA GMP $0.22
Sports Research KSM-66 600 mg / 1 softgel Softgel Yes $0.33
Vthrive (Vitamin Shoppe) KSM-66 300 mg / 1 cap Capsule No $0.21
Youtheory KSM-66 + root powder 1,000 mg blend / 2 caps Capsule In-house cGMP $0.25
Swanson (KSM-66) KSM-66 250 mg / 1 cap Capsule No $0.13
Goli KSM-66 150 mg × 2 gummies = 300 mg Gummies No $0.63
Nature Made Gummies KSM-66 150 mg × 2 gummies = 300 mg Gummies USP Verified $0.25
Nature Made Capsules Sensoril 125 mg / 1 cap Capsule USP Verified $0.22
Life Extension Sensoril 125 mg / 1 cap Capsule Yes $0.25
Swanson (Sensoril) Sensoril 125 mg / 1 cap Capsule No $0.10
Thorne Shoden 120 mg / 1 cap Capsule NSF Contents Certified $0.67
Nootropics Depot (Shoden) Shoden 120 mg / 1 cap Capsule In-house HPLC $0.33
Himalaya Full-spectrum root + leaf 670 mg / 1 cap Capsule Non-GMO Project $0.30
Organic India Full-spectrum root 400 mg / 2 caps Capsule USDA Organic $0.22
Gaia Herbs Full-spectrum root ~350 mg / 1 cap Liquid Phyto-Cap No $0.42
Nature's Bounty Generic root extract Varies Capsule No $0.17
Garden of Life Organic root Varies Tablet USDA Organic, NSF $0.42
Double Wood KSM-66 600 mg / 2 caps Capsule Yes $0.18

Goli Ashwagandha Gummies Review

Goli is the best-selling ashwagandha gummy in the United States, and the brand most people encounter first — at CVS, Walmart, Target, or on Amazon. The product uses KSM-66 ashwagandha root extract at 150 mg per gummy, with a recommended serving of two gummies twice daily for a total of 600 mg/day. Most people take two gummies once, which delivers 300 mg/day — the low end of the clinical dose range.

What's Actually in Goli Ashwagandha Gummies?

Each Goli ashwagandha gummy contains 150 mg of KSM-66 ashwagandha root extract and 12.5 mcg of vitamin D2 (ergocalciferol). The inactive ingredients include organic tapioca syrup, organic cane sugar, water, pectin, natural flavors, malic acid, citric acid, sodium citrate, fruit and vegetable juice for color, and organic sunflower lecithin. The gummies are vegan, gluten-free, gelatin-free, and mixed berry flavored.

Two things stand out. First, the vitamin D is in the D2 form, which is less bioavailable than D3 — a review in the American Journal of Clinical Nutrition argued that D2 should not be considered equivalent to D3 for supplementation purposes. Second, the gummy format requires added sugar (4 grams per 2-gummy serving) and limits the amount of ashwagandha that can be packed into each piece, which is why each gummy only holds 150 mg versus the 600 mg you get in a single capsule from brands like Nutricost or Transparent Labs.

Does Goli Ashwagandha Actually Work?

The KSM-66 extract itself works — it has 24+ published RCTs behind it. The question is whether Goli delivers enough of it. At two gummies per day (the most common real-world usage), you get 300 mg of KSM-66. That's within the studied range (300–600 mg/day), but at the minimum effective threshold. Taking the full recommended four gummies per day gets you to 600 mg, which matches the dose used in the landmark Chandrasekhar cortisol study, but that means finishing a 60-count bottle in 15 days at $19 per bottle — roughly $1.27/day and $38/month.

Goli Ashwagandha Side Effects

Goli ashwagandha gummies carry the same side effect profile as any KSM-66 supplement: mild GI discomfort in some users, potential thyroid hormone changes, and the standard contraindications (pregnancy, autoimmune thyroid conditions, upcoming surgery). The added sugar in gummies is a separate consideration for people managing blood sugar or following low-sugar diets. One safety signal worth flagging across all ashwagandha brands: a 2026 scoping review of the clinical literature documented a reproducible pattern of idiosyncratic, often cholestatic ashwagandha-associated liver injury, typically appearing 2–12 weeks after starting the supplement (McIntyre et al., 2026). The NIH LiverTox database advises that people with advanced chronic liver disease avoid ashwagandha and that any unexplained jaundice or liver enzyme elevation while taking it warrants stopping the product (NIH LiverTox, 2024). Cases remain rare relative to how widely the herb is used, but they are real. Our full ashwagandha side effects guide covers the clinical evidence.

What Does Goli Ashwagandha Do for Men vs. Women?

There is no gender-specific formulation in Goli ashwagandha gummies — the same KSM-66 extract supports cortisol reduction, stress relief, and sleep quality regardless of sex. The evidence on testosterone is mixed: some KSM-66 trials reported a modest increase in men (roughly 15% in the Wankhede 2015 study), but a more recent 8-week randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial in men found that the rise in total testosterone did not reach statistical significance versus placebo (Khanna et al., 2026). For women, the cortisol and anxiety evidence is the primary benefit. See our guides to ashwagandha for men and ashwagandha for women for the gender-specific research.

When to Take Goli Ashwagandha and How Many Per Day

Goli recommends two gummies twice daily (total: 4 gummies, 600 mg KSM-66). Most users take two gummies once daily. Taking them with food reduces the chance of stomach discomfort. Morning or evening both work — ashwagandha is not a stimulant and is not sedating at standard doses. For timing strategies, see when to take ashwagandha.

The Bottom Line on Goli

Goli is a convenient, pleasant-tasting way to take ashwagandha, and the KSM-66 extract is legitimate. Cost is where it falls down: at studied doses (4 gummies/day), Goli runs $38/month compared to $4–8/month for capsule-form KSM-66 from Nutricost or Transparent Labs. It also lacks independent third-party testing and adds sugar and vitamin D2 that most people don't need. If gummy format is non-negotiable, Nature Made's ashwagandha gummies use the same KSM-66 extract with USP verification at a lower price.

Nature Made Ashwagandha Review

Nature Made sells ashwagandha in two formats that use different extracts — a detail most reviews miss entirely. The capsules use Sensoril (root + leaf, 125 mg, ≥10% withanolides). The gummies use KSM-66 (root only, 150 mg per gummy, ≥5% withanolides). Both are USP Verified, which means an independent lab has confirmed the label claim, tested for contaminants, and verified manufacturing standards. Among mass-market ashwagandha brands, Nature Made is the only one with USP verification.

Nature Made Ashwagandha Capsules (Sensoril, 125 mg)

Each capsule delivers 125 mg of Sensoril ashwagandha root and leaf extract. This is a clinically studied dose — an 8-week randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial found that a standardized root-and-leaf extract (Sensoril) reduced perceived stress and serum cortisol at doses as low as 125 mg/day in chronically stressed adults (Fatima et al., 2024, Nutrients). Nature Made's version contains no artificial flavors, colors, or preservatives. One capsule per day, taken with water. At roughly $0.22/serving, it's one of the more affordable options from a brand with genuine third-party oversight.

The limitation is that Sensoril has fewer published RCTs than KSM-66 (~10 vs 24+), and the root-plus-leaf composition may carry a different alkaloid profile than root-only extracts. Sensoril tends to be more calming and sleep-promoting than KSM-66, making it a better fit for evening use or people whose primary concern is anxiety and sleep rather than daytime energy or athletic performance.

Nature Made Ashwagandha Gummies (KSM-66, 300 mg/day)

Each gummy contains 150 mg of KSM-66, with a recommended serving of one gummy twice daily for 300 mg/day total. Mixed berry flavor, vegan, no gelatin. Like all ashwagandha gummies, the format requires added sugar and limits ashwagandha density. The key advantage over Goli gummies is USP Verification — meaning the KSM-66 content has been independently confirmed, not just claimed on a label.

Nature Made Magnesium + Ashwagandha Capsules

Nature Made also sells a combination product with 300 mg magnesium and Sensoril ashwagandha, which the brand positions for occasional stress and sleep support. The magnesium form is magnesium oxide, which has lower bioavailability than magnesium glycinate or threonate. If you're specifically interested in a magnesium-ashwagandha stack for sleep, our guide to ashwagandha and magnesium glycinate together explains why the glycinate form pairs better.

Youtheory Ashwagandha Review

Youtheory ashwagandha is a Costco staple — the 180-capsule bottle is one of the most-purchased ashwagandha products in warehouse retail. Each two-capsule serving delivers 1,000 mg of a "Full Spectrum Ashwagandha Blend" that combines KSM-66 root extract with ashwagandha root powder, plus 20 mg of ginger root extract.

Here's the problem: Youtheory does not disclose how much of that 1,000 mg blend is KSM-66 and how much is generic root powder. This is a proprietary blend by another name. If the blend is 200 mg KSM-66 and 800 mg generic powder, you're getting a sub-clinical KSM-66 dose padded with unstandardized material. If it's 600 mg KSM-66 and 400 mg powder, you're getting a legitimate dose. There's no way to know from the label.

Youtheory products are manufactured in a cGMP-certified facility and tested in-house, but the brand does not disclose independent third-party testing results. Customer reviews on Amazon and Costco are generally positive (4.5+ stars), with users reporting stress relief and improved mood. The ginger root addition may help with absorption and reduce potential GI side effects.

At $25 for 180 capsules (90 servings) at Costco, the cost per serving is approximately $0.28 — reasonable if the KSM-66 proportion is adequate, but impossible to verify without independent lab testing.

Thorne Ashwagandha Review

Thorne is one of the most trusted supplement brands among healthcare practitioners, and its ashwagandha product stands apart from every other brand on this list: it uses Shoden, not KSM-66 or Sensoril. Shoden is a root-and-leaf extract standardized to 35% withanolide glycosides — roughly seven times the withanolide concentration of KSM-66. This means a small 120 mg dose delivers a large payload of the active compounds.

A 2024 randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial published in the Journal of Herbal Medicine found that 120 mg of Shoden daily significantly reduced serum cortisol and HAM-A anxiety scores while increasing total testosterone in stressed adults. Thorne's dose matches this trial exactly.

The capsules are NSF Contents Certified (not NSF Certified for Sport — an important distinction for competitive athletes who need banned-substance screening). Each bottle contains 30 capsules, one per day, making this a 30-day supply at approximately $0.67 per serving — the most expensive option per day on this list, but also the most concentrated by withanolide content per milligram.

Who is Thorne ashwagandha best for? People who want a one-capsule-per-day format from a brand trusted by the Mayo Clinic Store and over 100 professional sports teams, and who don't mind paying a premium for Shoden's concentrated potency. The NSF certification adds a layer of verified quality that most brands lack.

NOW Foods KSM-66 Ashwagandha Review

NOW Foods is one of the largest independent supplement manufacturers in the U.S., and their KSM-66 ashwagandha delivers 450 mg per capsule — a dose that falls comfortably within the clinically studied range of 300–600 mg/day. The 90-capsule bottle provides a 90-day supply at roughly $0.22 per serving, making it one of the better value KSM-66 options from a well-established brand.

NOW's facilities are NPA GMP-certified and the brand has a long history of in-house testing. NOW Foods KSM-66 Ashwagandha reviews consistently rate it 4.4+ stars, with NOW Foods KSM-66 Ashwagandha 600 mg reviews noting effective stress relief and reliable quality. NOW also offers a liquid ashwagandha extract (organic, alcohol-free) for people who prefer drops over capsules.

One thing to weigh: NOW Foods uses 450 mg rather than the 600 mg used in the most-cited KSM-66 trials (Chandrasekhar 2012, Wankhede 2015). For most people this won't matter — 450 mg exceeds the 300 mg threshold where clinical effects have been documented. But if you want to match the exact dose from the landmark studies, Nutricost or Transparent Labs at 600 mg per capsule is a closer match.

Vthrive KSM-66 Ashwagandha Review (The Vitamin Shoppe)

Vthrive is The Vitamin Shoppe's house brand, and their KSM-66 ashwagandha provides 300 mg per capsule in a 120-count bottle. The formula is clean — no magnesium stearate, no stearic acid, no titanium dioxide, all common filler complaints in the supplement space. Non-GMO, vegetarian capsules.

At 300 mg per capsule, you're at the minimum clinically studied dose for KSM-66. Taking two capsules gets you to 600 mg, which doubles your daily cost but matches the higher end of the clinical range. The 120-count bottle at ~$25 works out to roughly $0.21 per 300 mg serving or $0.42 per 600 mg serving — reasonable either way.

Vthrive's weak spot is that it does not list independent third-party testing for this product. It's only available at The Vitamin Shoppe and its online store, limiting purchase convenience compared to brands carried at Walmart or Amazon.

Transparent Labs KSM-66 Ashwagandha Review

Transparent Labs delivers 600 mg of organic KSM-66 ashwagandha in a single capsule — no fillers, no proprietary blends, no BioPerine or other additions. What you see is what you get, which matches the brand's name. Every batch is third-party tested, and certificates of analysis are available on request.

The 600 mg dose matches the clinical dose used in the Chandrasekhar cortisol study and the Wankhede muscle strength trial. One capsule per day, 60 capsules per bottle, roughly $0.33 per serving. For people who want the exact studied KSM-66 dose in a no-frills format from a brand with genuine transparency practices, this is a strong option.

Transparent Labs KSM-66 is available on Amazon and through the brand's website. It is not carried by Walmart, CVS, or other brick-and-mortar retailers.

Gaia Herbs Ashwagandha Root Review

Gaia Herbs uses a full-spectrum ashwagandha root extract in liquid-filled phytocapsules (Liquid Phyto-Caps) — their proprietary delivery system that the brand claims improves absorption. Unlike KSM-66 or Sensoril, Gaia's extract is not standardized to a specific withanolide percentage. The label lists concentrated ashwagandha root extract without disclosing the exact withanolide content per serving.

Gaia also makes ashwagandha gummies, marketed under the same brand. The gummies are a more recent addition and use a similar root extract.

The brand is B Corp certified and sources herbs from its own farm in North Carolina, which gives it strong provenance credentials. However, without standardized withanolide content and without the specific clinical trials that back KSM-66, Sensoril, or Shoden, it's harder to predict outcomes. Customer reviews are positive (4.6 stars on Amazon), with users noting the liquid capsule format is easy to swallow and gentle on the stomach.

At roughly $0.42 per serving, Gaia is priced at a premium relative to standardized extract options. The brand appeals to people who prioritize whole-plant, farm-sourced supplements over extract-specific clinical validation.

Nutricost KSM-66 Ashwagandha Review

Nutricost is the value leader in the KSM-66 ashwagandha space. Each capsule delivers 600 mg of KSM-66 at the exact dose used in the most-cited clinical trials, with 120 capsules per bottle — a four-month supply for under $16. That works out to roughly $0.13 per serving, the lowest cost-per-serving of any legitimate KSM-66 product we've evaluated.

The capsules include BioPerine (black pepper extract) for absorption enhancement, are manufactured in a GMP-compliant facility, and the brand states that products are third-party tested. Nutricost also offers non-KSM-66 ashwagandha root extract capsules and ashwagandha gummies at lower price points, but the KSM-66 version is the one with standardized clinical backing.

Nutricost KSM-66 Ashwagandha Root Extract 600mg reviews on Amazon average 4.5+ stars across thousands of ratings, with users consistently noting reduced stress and improved sleep within 2–4 weeks. What you give up at this price is brand polish — no fancy packaging, no scientific advisory board featured on the website, and customer service reviews are mixed. But if the extract, dose, and testing are what matter to you (and they should be), Nutricost KSM-66 delivers the same active ingredient as Transparent Labs at less than half the cost per serving.

Swanson Ashwagandha Review

Swanson sells multiple ashwagandha products across different extract types, which can be confusing. The two worth knowing about:

Swanson Ultimate Ashwagandha KSM-66 delivers 250 mg of KSM-66 per capsule. At the minimum clinical threshold, some users take two capsules (500 mg) to approach the studied dose range. At roughly $0.13 per capsule, doubling up still keeps it affordable. Customer reviews on iHerb average 4.5 stars.

Swanson Sensoril Ashwagandha delivers 125 mg of Sensoril per capsule — matching the dose used in published Sensoril trials. This is a strong budget option for people specifically seeking the calming, sleep-focused profile of Sensoril over the more energy-oriented KSM-66. Swanson also offers a turmeric, ashwagandha, and ginseng complex as a combination adaptogen product.

Swanson does not claim independent third-party testing for either product. The brand has been in business since 1969 and operates its own manufacturing facility, but independent lab verification remains a gap.

Himalaya Organic Ashwagandha Review

Himalaya is one of the oldest herbal supplement companies in the world, founded in India in 1930. Their ashwagandha capsules contain 670 mg of a full-spectrum organic ashwagandha root and leaf extract — not KSM-66, not Sensoril, but Himalaya's own extraction process. The brand refers to its extract as "clinically studied," citing company-sponsored trials, but these trials use Himalaya's specific formulation, not a standardized patented extract shared with other brands.

The capsules are certified USDA Organic and Non-GMO Project Verified. Himalaya ashwagandha tablets (sold primarily in international markets, including India) have a long track record of consumer use. Amazon reviews average 4.5+ stars with over 10,000 ratings.

Its weak point is the lack of standardized withanolide content on the label. Without knowing the withanolide percentage, you cannot compare potency to KSM-66 (≥5%) or Sensoril (≥10%) on a milligram-for-milligram basis. For people who trust Himalaya's 90+ year Ayurvedic heritage over specific extract standardization, this is a reasonable choice. For evidence-driven buyers who want to match published trial protocols, a standardized extract is a better fit.

Organic India Ashwagandha Review

Organic India makes two ashwagandha products: traditional root capsules using their own full-spectrum organic root extract, and newer ashwagandha gummies using KSM-66. The capsules deliver 400 mg of root extract per two-capsule serving. USDA Organic certified, vegan, non-GMO, with no standardized withanolide claim on the label.

Organic India also makes a tulsi ashwagandha tea that combines holy basil with ashwagandha root — a traditional Ayurvedic pairing. The tea delivers a much lower ashwagandha dose than capsules and is better thought of as a calming herbal beverage than a clinical-dose supplement.

The brand is India-based, Fair Trade certified, and emphasizes regenerative farming practices. For buyers who prioritize organic sourcing and ethical supply chains over extract standardization, Organic India is a credible choice. For those seeking a clinically validated dose, the KSM-66 gummies are the stronger option from this brand.

Sports Research KSM-66 Ashwagandha Review

Sports Research Ashwagandha Organic 600mg delivers organic KSM-66 per softgel — a coconut-oil-based liquid softgel format that the brand claims improves absorption. Third-party tested, non-GMO, and available in 60-count bottles. At roughly $0.33 per serving, it's priced similarly to Transparent Labs.

The softgel format is the main differentiator. Some users find softgels easier to swallow than vegetarian capsules, and the coconut oil carrier may theoretically improve fat-soluble compound absorption (though no published trial specifically compares KSM-66 softgel absorption to capsule absorption). The product is popular among fitness-focused users, with strong Amazon reviews (4.5+ stars, 5,000+ ratings).

Nootropics Depot Ashwagandha Review

Nootropics Depot is the most extract-diverse ashwagandha retailer. They sell all three patented extracts — KSM-66 capsules and powder, Sensoril capsules and powder, and Shoden capsules — under their own label. This makes them the only retailer where you can directly compare all three extracts from the same manufacturer.

The brand conducts in-house HPLC testing on every batch and publishes test results on their website and Reddit community. Their Shoden capsules (120 mg, 35% withanolide glycosides) match the Thorne Shoden dose at a lower price point (~$0.33 vs. $0.67 per serving). The KSM-66 powder format is popular among users who measure precise doses or add ashwagandha to smoothies.

Nootropics Depot is online-only (not available in retail stores) and has a dedicated Reddit community where staff actively answer dosing and extract-comparison questions. For knowledgeable supplement users who want granular control over extract type and format, Nootropics Depot is the strongest option on this list. For first-time ashwagandha buyers who want a simpler purchasing decision, the depth of choices can be overwhelming.

Life Extension Ashwagandha Review

Life Extension offers an "Ashwagandha Plus Calm & Focus" product combining 125 mg of Sensoril with additional calming ingredients. The Sensoril dose matches published clinical trials, and Life Extension has a 40+ year track record in the supplement industry with rigorous testing standards.

Life Extension also sells "Optimized Ashwagandha" using Sensoril at a clinical dose. Both products are third-party tested. The brand skews toward an older, health-conscious demographic and is less commonly found in mainstream retail compared to Nature Made or Goli.

Nature's Bounty, Garden of Life, Double Wood, and Solgar Ashwagandha

Nature's Bounty Ashwagandha uses generic root extract without specifying KSM-66, Sensoril, or Shoden. The withanolide content is not standardized on the label. At $10–12 per bottle, it's cheap, but you're buying an unstandardized extract that may vary significantly in potency between batches. Widely available at Walmart, CVS, and Walgreens.

Garden of Life Ashwagandha offers USDA Organic and NSF-certified ashwagandha in tablet form. The emphasis is on organic sourcing and clean-label certifications. Like Himalaya, the extract is not standardized to a patented withanolide specification. Priced at a premium (~$0.42/serving) relative to its non-standardized extract.

Double Wood Supplements KSM-66 delivers 600 mg of KSM-66 across two capsules (300 mg each). Third-party tested, manufactured in the U.S. At roughly $0.18 per serving, it's a solid budget KSM-66 option with the full clinical dose, though less well-known than Nutricost or Transparent Labs.

Solgar Ashwagandha uses a standardized root extract but does not specify KSM-66 or Sensoril. Solgar is a legacy supplement brand (founded 1947) with strong retail presence in health food stores but increasingly outdated formulations compared to brands using patented extracts with published clinical data.

Where to Buy Ashwagandha: Walmart, CVS, Target, Costco, Amazon, GNC, and More

Where you buy ashwagandha determines which brands — and which extracts — you have access to. Here's what each major retailer stocks and whether you can find a clinically studied extract on their shelves.

Ashwagandha at Walmart

Walmart carries Nature Made (both Sensoril capsules and KSM-66 gummies), Nature's Bounty, Spring Valley (Walmart's house brand, generic extract), and Goli. The Nature Made Sensoril capsules are the strongest option on Walmart shelves — USP Verified, clinically studied dose, under $15. Goli gummies are also widely stocked. Generic house-brand ashwagandha at Walmart uses unstandardized powder and should be avoided if clinical effectiveness matters to you.

Ashwagandha at CVS

CVS stocks Goli ashwagandha gummies, Nature Made ashwagandha capsules (Sensoril), and CVS Health brand ashwagandha (generic extract). The CVS Health house brand is the cheapest but uses unstandardized root powder. Goli and Nature Made are your two credible options in-store. CVS also carries the Nature Made ashwagandha gummies seasonally.

Ashwagandha at Target

Target carries Goli, Nature Made, and a limited selection of other brands depending on location. Target's online store has a broader selection than most physical locations. Goli ashwagandha is often displayed in the wellness end-cap sections alongside other gummy supplements.

Ashwagandha at Costco

Costco's ashwagandha selection is limited but value-oriented. Youtheory ashwagandha (180 capsules, KSM-66 + root powder blend) is the flagship offering at $25 — one of the lowest per-capsule costs from a name brand. Selection varies by warehouse and region, and Costco's supplement inventory rotates seasonally.

Ashwagandha on Amazon

Amazon has the widest selection of any retailer — over 200 ashwagandha products — which is both its strength and its weakness. Every brand in this guide is available on Amazon, often at competitive prices. The risk is counterfeit and mislabeled products from third-party sellers. For KSM-66 products specifically, buying directly from the brand's Amazon storefront (look for "Ships from and sold by [Brand Name]") reduces this risk. Nutricost, Transparent Labs, Sports Research, and NOW Foods all have verified Amazon storefronts.

Ashwagandha at GNC

GNC carries its own house-brand ashwagandha (extract type varies) and a rotating selection of third-party brands. GNC's house brand is typically priced higher than equivalent products from Nutricost or Swanson. The in-store staff can be helpful for first-time buyers who want guidance, but the product selection is narrower than Amazon or Vitamin Shoppe.

Ashwagandha at The Vitamin Shoppe

The Vitamin Shoppe stocks its own Vthrive KSM-66 (300 mg, 120 capsules) alongside brands like Gaia Herbs, Organic India, and others. The Vthrive KSM-66 is the standout in-store option — clean formula, clinically studied extract, competitive pricing. The Vitamin Shoppe stores generally have better-trained staff and a more curated selection than Walmart or CVS for supplement shoppers.

Ashwagandha at Whole Foods and Walgreens

Whole Foods carries Gaia Herbs, Organic India, and Garden of Life — brands aligned with its organic and natural focus. You won't find budget KSM-66 options here, but the sourcing quality and organic certifications are strong. Walgreens stocks Nature's Bounty and a limited selection of name-brand ashwagandha, typically at higher prices than Walmart or Amazon for the same products.

Ashwagandha Brand FAQs

Is Goli ashwagandha worth it?

Goli delivers legitimate KSM-66 ashwagandha in gummy form, but the cost is high relative to capsule alternatives. At the recommended four gummies per day, Goli runs about $38/month. Nutricost KSM-66 capsules deliver the same extract at the same dose for under $4/month. The value proposition of Goli is convenience and taste, not formulation or price. If you prefer gummies and are willing to pay the premium, it works. If cost matters, capsule-form KSM-66 is substantially cheaper.

What is the difference between Nature Made ashwagandha capsules and gummies?

Nature Made ashwagandha capsules use Sensoril (root + leaf, 125 mg, calming profile), while the gummies use KSM-66 (root only, 300 mg/day, broader clinical evidence). Both are USP Verified. Choose capsules if sleep and anxiety are your primary goals; choose gummies if you want KSM-66's broader evidence base in a chewable format.

Is Youtheory ashwagandha good?

Youtheory ashwagandha uses KSM-66, but the exact amount in the 1,000 mg blend is not disclosed — it's mixed with generic root powder. Without knowing the KSM-66 proportion, you can't confirm the dose matches clinical studies. It's sold at Costco at a competitive price and has strong customer reviews, but the lack of extract transparency is a meaningful limitation compared to brands that disclose exact KSM-66 content.

Is Thorne ashwagandha the best?

Thorne ashwagandha uses Shoden, which is the highest-concentration withanolide extract available (35% withanolide glycosides). It's NSF certified, trusted by healthcare practitioners, and sold through the Mayo Clinic Store. Whether it's "the best" depends on your criteria. It's the most concentrated, the most independently verified, and the most expensive per serving ($0.67/day). Nutricost KSM-66 at $0.13/day uses a different extract with more published trials at a fraction of the cost.

Does ashwagandha from Walmart work?

It depends on which brand you buy at Walmart. Nature Made ashwagandha (Sensoril capsules or KSM-66 gummies) works — it uses clinically studied extracts with USP Verification. Walmart's house brand (Spring Valley) and Nature's Bounty use generic extracts with unstandardized withanolide content, meaning potency is unpredictable. The store you buy from doesn't determine quality; the extract inside the capsule does.

Can a 13-year-old take Goli ashwagandha gummies?

There is no established safe dose of ashwagandha for children or adolescents under 18. Published clinical trials have exclusively studied adults. The NIH Office of Dietary Supplements does not recommend ashwagandha for children. Goli's label states "not intended for persons under 18." Consult your pediatrician before giving any ashwagandha product to a minor. For more on age-specific safety data, see our ashwagandha side effects guide.

What are Goli ashwagandha gummies benefits?

Goli ashwagandha gummies benefits include stress reduction, cortisol support, and improved sleep quality — all documented effects of the KSM-66 extract they contain. Goli ashwagandha benefits for female users center on cortisol and anxiety reduction, while Goli ashwagandha benefits for male users include the testosterone-supporting effects documented in KSM-66 trials. The benefits come from the KSM-66 extract itself, not the Goli brand specifically — any supplement delivering 300–600 mg/day of KSM-66 would provide similar effects.

Does Goli ashwagandha increase testosterone?

The evidence is mixed and dose-dependent. Some KSM-66 trials have reported modest testosterone increases in adult men (~15% in Wankhede 2015), but those trials used 600 mg/day of KSM-66, while the standard two-gummy Goli serving delivers 300 mg/day. A 2026 randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial in healthy men found the increase in total testosterone did not reach statistical significance versus placebo (Khanna et al., 2026), so the effect is not consistent across studies. Whether the lower gummy dose produces any testosterone effect has not been specifically studied. See our full ashwagandha and testosterone review.

What is the best ashwagandha supplement overall?

It depends on what you're optimizing for. For the best combination of clinically studied extract, full dose, third-party testing, and price, Nutricost KSM-66 (600 mg, $0.13/serving) is the value choice. Transparent Labs KSM-66 (600 mg, $0.33/serving) is the premium capsule choice. Thorne Shoden (120 mg, $0.67/serving) is the concentrated, practitioner-grade choice. Nature Made (USP Verified, either extract) is the best mass-market pharmacy option. For a complete breakdown, see our best ashwagandha supplements guide.

This article is written for general educational purposes and is not medical advice. The extracts and products discussed are dietary supplements, not drugs; statements about ashwagandha describe its role in supporting normal body structure and function. Clinical findings cited here come from published trials of specific extracts and are not claims that any product diagnoses, treats, cures, or prevents disease. Individual results vary. Consult a licensed healthcare provider before starting any supplement, especially if you are pregnant, nursing, managing a medical condition, or taking prescription medication.

These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.

References

  1. Chandrasekhar K, Kapoor J, Anishetty S. A Prospective, Randomized Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled Study of Safety and Efficacy of a High-Concentration Full-Spectrum Extract of Ashwagandha Root in Reducing Stress and Anxiety in Adults. Indian Journal of Psychological Medicine. 2012;34(3):255-262. PubMed: 23439798
  2. Wankhede S, Langade D, Joshi K, Sinha SR, Bhattacharyya S. Examining the effect of Withania somnifera supplementation on muscle strength and recovery: a randomized controlled trial. Journal of the International Society of Sports Nutrition. 2015;12:43. PubMed: 26609282
  3. Langade D, Kanchi S, Salve J, Debnath K, Ambegaokar D. Efficacy and Safety of Ashwagandha (Withania somnifera) Root Extract in Insomnia and Anxiety: A Double-blind, Randomized, Placebo-controlled Study. Cureus. 2019;11(9):e5797. PubMed: 31728244
  4. Lopresti AL, Smith SJ, Malvi H, Kodgule R. An investigation into the stress-relieving and pharmacological actions of an ashwagandha (Withania somnifera) extract: A randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled study. Medicine. 2019;98(37):e17186. PubMed: 31517876
  5. Gopukumar K, Thanawala S, Somepalli V, et al. Efficacy and Safety of Ashwagandha Root Extract on Cognitive Functions in Healthy, Stressed Adults: A Randomized, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled Study. Evidence-Based Complementary and Alternative Medicine. 2021. PubMed: 34858513
  6. Raut A, Tripathi R, Marathe PA, et al. Evaluation of Withania somnifera (L.) Dunal (Ashwagandha) on Physical Performance, Biomarkers of Inflammation, and Muscle Status in Healthy Volunteers: A Randomized, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled Study. Cureus. 2024;16(9):e68940. PMC: 11460434
  7. Fatima S, et al. Effects of Withania somnifera Extract in Chronically Stressed Adults: A Randomized Controlled Trial. Nutrients. 2024;16(9):1293. PMC: 11085552
  8. Bachour G, Samir A, Haddad S, Houssaini MA, El Radad M. Effects of Ashwagandha Supplements on Cortisol, Stress, and Anxiety Levels in Adults: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis. BJPsych Open. 2025;11(S1). PMC: 12242034
  9. Albalawi AA. Dual impact of Ashwagandha: Significant cortisol reduction but no effects on perceived stress — A systematic review and meta-analysis. Nutrition and Health. 2025. DOI: 10.1177/02601060251363647
  10. Khanna A, Khanna M, Panchal P. Efficacy and safety of ashwagandha root extract on sexual health in healthy men: a prospective, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled study. Frontiers in Reproductive Health. 2026;8:1774098. PubMed: 41766918
  11. McIntyre D, Nguyen P, Kim Y, Meyer B, Salloum M. Ashwagandha (Withania somnifera)-Associated Liver Injury: A Scoping Review of Clinical Characteristics and Safety Considerations. Cureus. 2026;18(5):e109764. PubMed: 42367407
  12. NIH LiverTox: Clinical and Research Information on Drug-Induced Liver Injury. Ashwagandha. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. Last updated December 3, 2024. NCBI Bookshelf: NBK548536
  13. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements. Ashwagandha — Fact Sheet for Health Professionals. ods.od.nih.gov
The product behind this research
Ashwagandha Plus 600mg
600mg KSM-66® · 5% withanolides + Maca & Ginseng
✓ Third-Party Tested✓ GMP Certified✓ Made in USA
$42.99Free shipping on orders $50+
Full product details →
Topics
Amazonashwagandhabrand comparisonCostcoCVSGNCGoliHimalayaKSM-66Nature MadeNOW FoodsNutricostSensorilShodensupplement reviewsTargetThorneTransparent LabsVitamin ShoppeWalmartYoutheory

Sources verified: All PubMed citations and external references in this article were last verified onSeptember 20, 2026.

Disclosure: YourHealthier manufactures and sells the supplements discussed in this article. All health claims are based on published peer-reviewed research cited above. We earn revenue from product sales linked in this article.

*These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. Consult your healthcare provider before starting any supplement regimen.

Lab Results · Our Science · Editorial Policy

Get 10% Off

Subscribe for science updates + exclusive discounts